Would love to get your thoughts on my new blog review... - Page 2 - Road Glide Forums
*General Road Glide Discussions/Pictures Post general Road Glide discussions with photos.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-22-2012, 10:09 PM
Grey beard
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: western Montana,USA
Posts: 1,346
Great to see an unbiased review of these...a real shortage of reviews on a lot of accessories.Nice job!

that being said though...I kinda wondered about the "We noticed very little difference in the amount of air that was hitting our body"...lol.

we don't like the wind,it might disturb our precious...

2012 FLTRU-Thunderheader,T-max,tuned induction,progressive monotubes,Madstad 16 clear
2002 FXD-T-header+too many mods to list
danglide is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-22-2012, 10:33 PM
Member
 
Ironrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 355
Vic I liked your detailed honesty, being politically correct about recommending them at the end give it a ranking instead of recommending them. After listening to your review I wouldn’t waste dime on them. Jut my 2 cent be safe.

Ironrider
Ironrider is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-23-2012, 06:40 AM
Life Member
 
mitchdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NE FL ~ South of Jax
Posts: 1,679
I have lowers on the Skunk and can say I felt a noticeable improvement with the wings. Averaging about 40k per year I usually do one Mod at a time to determine if it will improve the air flow of the bike ~ I use the clears on the Skunk and they are barely noticeable. They will remain on the bike ~ my last mod for airflow is the black Front Fork Air Baffle ~ this improved my batwings and I hope it has the same benefits on the RG. Good Review overall although I feel like the lowers were an Improvement the Wings improved airflow even more. SemperFi

~Road Glide The only way to Fly ~
mitchdm is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-23-2012, 07:43 AM
Member
 
1st Sgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 615
I enjoyed the review and had been on the fence about the wings. if it were just me, I wouldn't but it's my backseater that tells me she is affected by buffeting. Regardless - good job on your approach and write-up.

2011 Vivid Black RGU with some mods and a damned big smile
1st Sgt is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 08:30 AM
Newbie
 
CalVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 47
Your findings don't seem to match mine!

The first ride on my 12 Ultra was from Los Angeles to the SF Bay area having gotten a killer deal making it worth traveling to purchase it. About 30 miles into the trip home I had to stop at a Walmart to buy Advil for the pounding headache caused from the wind pulses banging against my head. My glasses were literally all over my face from the wind blurring my vision. At this point I was sick that I had purchased this motorcycle. The RG is my 26th motorcycle and never have I experienced anything like the buffeting this thing produced. I had made the decision while riding home that my new bike was for sale if there wasn't a fix for this problem.

I started with a Windvest windscreen which didn't help much if at all. I ordered a set of Sancho's Wings thinking that if they worked they would bail me out from a horrible mistake. I road once with my wife before they arrived, but I took 4 Advil tabs before leaving. We rode over to the Coast for Clam Chowder and guess what? Wifey tapped me on the shoulder and asked me to pull over so she could take a couple of Advil as well.

Getting to the point... Sancho's Wings have removed enough of the buffeting issues that I really like my bike now. My wife also called the results magic. I can't say enough good about these things.

So Vic, I'm not disputing your findings but I am wondering how your results are do different from what I experienced? I'm 6'2" and my wife sits about the same height on the raised back seat. Out of curiosity I'm wondering if rider height has something to do with getting knocked goofy by a RoadGlide without the Wings? Is there any chance that you are significantly taller, or shorter than me?

Last edited by CalVet; 11-24-2012 at 08:34 AM.
CalVet is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 10:10 AM
Life Member
 
mitchdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NE FL ~ South of Jax
Posts: 1,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalVet View Post
The first ride on my 12 Ultra was from Los Angeles to the SF Bay area having gotten a killer deal making it worth traveling to purchase it. About 30 miles into the trip home I had to stop at a Walmart to buy Advil for the pounding headache caused from the wind pulses banging against my head. My glasses were literally all over my face from the wind blurring my vision. At this point I was sick that I had purchased this motorcycle. The RG is my 26th motorcycle and never have I experienced anything like the buffeting this thing produced. I had made the decision while riding home that my new bike was for sale if there wasn't a fix for this problem.

I started with a Windvest windscreen which didn't help much if at all. I ordered a set of Sancho's Wings thinking that if they worked they would bail me out from a horrible mistake. I road once with my wife before they arrived, but I took 4 Advil tabs before leaving. We rode over to the Coast for Clam Chowder and guess what? Wifey tapped me on the shoulder and asked me to pull over so she could take a couple of Advil as well.

Getting to the point... Sancho's Wings have removed enough of the buffeting issues that I really like my bike now. My wife also called the results magic. I can't say enough good about these things.

So Vic, I'm not disputing your findings but I am wondering how your results are do different from what I experienced? I'm 6'2" and my wife sits about the same height on the raised back seat. Out of curiosity I'm wondering if rider height has something to do with getting knocked goofy by a RoadGlide without the Wings? Is there any chance that you are significantly taller, or shorter than me?
I 5'10" with Lowers on my bike and think this is the best $40 spent ~ I'm not disputing the review only providing my experience ~ All I have to say is keep the reviews comin ~ sometimes I will agree ~ sometimes I won't ~ but I will always read and consider them ~ SemperFi ~ I also put on the Front Fork air baffle ~ another improvement in my book ~ am waiting to get the final seat before I dial in the MadStad ~

~Road Glide The only way to Fly ~
mitchdm is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
sdlakerfan79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 578
CalVet,

First off, thanks for reading my blog review! I appreciate the feedback. I"m 5'11. I actually rode with the wings for 2-3 months prior to doing this review, so I had a lot of time to think about the writeup. Only in the actual video did I take one of the wings off. The side without the wings felt almost exactly like the side with the wings. As I stated in the video, I personally didnt notice that much of a difference. I'm not saying there wasnt any, its just that whatever difference there was, it wasnt enough to make me want to keep them. I really am unsure why some people swear by them and others don't. For me, I think the fact that I already had excellent lower wind protection kind of diminished what the wings brought to the table. It just wasnt there for me. I do recommend the product. I support Sancho and I think he makes a solid product. This review is just one mans perspective and I tried to be as fair as possible.

Again, thanks for visiting my website, and thanks to RoadGlide.org for allowing me to share my blogs/reviews on this site.
sdlakerfan79 is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-26-2012, 12:05 AM
Administrator
 
Stray Mutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The OC
Posts: 2,587
A good objective and clearly presented review. Great use of photos, which is of great importance IMO. I would have liked to have seen a test and review without the lowers to confirm that the lowers are actually the cause of your conclusion that the difference was minimal, but I think your conclusion was fair and reasonable. You're a good writer.

What if the Hokey-Pokey really is what it's all about?


Take OFF! To the GREAT white North! and Join us for SharkWeekVI Eh!
August 2-3-4 2016 - For registration information click HERE
Stray Mutt is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Road Glide Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome