Speedo questions - Road Glide Forums
Road Glide Forums






Go Back   Road Glide Forums > Road Glide Specific Discussions > Tech Area

Tech Area For Tutorials and Instructional Materials


Advertisement
Order T-Shirts Here

Motorcycle Superstore

Make sure to Visit our Sponsors. They keep this site FREE!








Partner Links


Motorcycle Superstore









 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2012, 11:36 PM
Monkeyman Monkeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Peru, IN
Posts: 589
Default Speedo questions

I'm going to add a Harley speedo to my metric and have a few questions.

What's the ppm rate for the Harley? I'm thinking 4000ppm but I don't know for sure. Is the HD speedo wiring basically: hot, ground, input? Or is there something else involved? I'll need to find a black face speedo (to match the tach I already have mounted) with around 15k miles. Are eBay, CL and Kijiji pretty much the only places to look?

Does anyone have access to good wiring diagrams that would help (for various years...not sure what year speedo I'll end up with)?

Thanks, all.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-15-2012, 10:13 AM
uhpilot's Avatar
uhpilot uhpilot is offline
Life Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Alexandria, AL
Posts: 1,718
Default

Here's the schematic for it.


Ricky
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (79.5 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2012, 09:17 PM
Monkeyman Monkeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Peru, IN
Posts: 589
Default

Thanks. That's half the battle. Looks like the ECM does the converting so that's not so good. If my metric ECM does the converting too, I'll have to have someone make a circuit unless both are exactly the same ppm.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2012, 01:01 AM
Monkeyman Monkeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Peru, IN
Posts: 589
Default

Is anyone an "expert" in the HD speedo? Before I drop a hundred bucks on one, I'd like to think I can make it work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2012, 11:18 AM
Monkeyman Monkeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Peru, IN
Posts: 589
Default

One more time then I'll leave it alone.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2012, 02:02 AM
Monkeyman Monkeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Peru, IN
Posts: 589
Default

I lied. I'm having trouble finding a good aftermarket speedo so I really want to see if an HD speedo will work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


 


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.



Design By: Miner Skinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
H-D, Harley-Davidson, and Harley-Davidson Logos are registered trademarks of H-D Michigan, Inc. Harley-Davidson in no way endorses or is affiliated with this site.