Cruise install? - Road Glide Forums
Road Glide Forums






Go Back   Road Glide Forums > Road Glide Specific Discussions > Controls & Handlebars

Controls & Handlebars Controls and Handlebars for Road Glides


Advertisement
Order T-Shirts Here

Motorcycle Superstore

Make sure to Visit our Sponsors. They keep this site FREE!








Partner Links


Motorcycle Superstore









 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2012, 09:04 PM
AppDan's Avatar
AppDan AppDan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,474
Default Cruise install?

Anyone install cruise themselves?

Stealer wants 3 hours @ 80 pr hr to install.

Considering doing it myself when I have it apart this winter.
__________________
D.Mize 10 Vivid Black RGC
My build here http://www.roadglide.org/showthread.php?t=115441
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-04-2012, 09:25 PM
cobra206 cobra206 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New York,
Posts: 378
Default

$80 an hour sounds good to me. My dealer charges $105 an hour...

Sent from my XT907 using Motorcycle.com Free App
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2012, 10:19 PM
RoadGlideRider's Avatar
RoadGlideRider RoadGlideRider is offline
Life Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West TN
Posts: 1,952
Default

If you do the install of parts yourself, you may save a little. The kit just has Handlebar controls and dash switch.
No servo any more. But the Cruise will still need a Dealer Download to activate the Cruise in the ECM.
Most dealers charge a minimum half hour labor to do the download. So you will not save much.
Plus if they do the entire job and there is a problem, they will eat all labor for any repair.
If you install the parts, they will only cover the download. If there is any other problem, you will eat it.
__________________
yaS wa'DIch la'Hom Ho'neH jorDe' vestai-VamPyr
IKRV Hurgh HaP, Ring of Fire Fleet, Order of the Bat'Leth

Vietnam Veteran, PGR, Widow's Son, "lIgh tlhab" (Ride Free)

Last edited by RoadGlideRider; 11-04-2012 at 10:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2012, 10:45 PM
rlaf75's Avatar
rlaf75 rlaf75 is offline
Life Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: East Hartford CT
Posts: 5,616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadGlideRider View Post
If you do the install of parts yourself, you may save a little. The kit just has Handlebar controls and dash switch.
No servo any more. But the Cruise will still need a Dealer Download to activate the Cruise in the ECM.
Most dealers charge a minimum half hour labor to do the download. So you will not save much.
Plus if they do the entire job and there is a problem, they will eat all labor for any repair.
If you install the parts, they will only cover the download. If there is any other problem, you will eat it.
+1 on that. Youll save alil but with the extra money youll pay to have them install it takes all fault away from you if something goes wrong
__________________
09 Mirage Orange Pearl

Some people just need a high-five. In the head. With a chair
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2012, 08:34 AM
CNMTurner's Avatar
CNMTurner CNMTurner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Millersville, MD
Posts: 670
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadGlideRider View Post
If you do the install of parts yourself, you may save a little. The kit just has Handlebar controls and dash switch.
No servo any more. But the Cruise will still need a Dealer Download to activate the Cruise in the ECM.
Most dealers charge a minimum half hour labor to do the download. So you will not save much.
Plus if they do the entire job and there is a problem, they will eat all labor for any repair.
If you install the parts, they will only cover the download. If there is any other problem, you will eat it.
Maybe.. maybe not. I installed cruise on my 10 RGC.. After hooking it up.. Flipped on the dash switch and guess what.. The CRUISE worked.. I did not need to have Stealer do anything...
So.. Sometimes.. the ECM is enabled when not installed.. FYI... and technically the dealer does not have to download.. The ECM is already cruise functional.. There is a toggle bit that just needs to be turned on.. if it is turned off at the factory.

Note.. when Turning on the dash switch.. If red cruise indicator come on in speedo.. then you're good to go..
__________________
2010 FLTRX - Stage 4 SE 113 - MVA Heads, 10.5:1, SE266E cams, 58mm TB, 5.3 gr/s injectors, Polished and plated motor and trans and a few chrome extras. Fullsac DX Header and Freedom Performance Classic 4" Slip-ons. Titan II 6.5 speakers with RF PBR300x2, Monroe Airshocks
1996 Tail dragin' Fatboy

Last edited by CNMTurner; 11-05-2012 at 08:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


 


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.



Design By: Miner Skinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
H-D, Harley-Davidson, and Harley-Davidson Logos are registered trademarks of H-D Michigan, Inc. Harley-Davidson in no way endorses or is affiliated with this site.