How to Find your Diagnostic Trouble Codes - Road Glide Forums
Road Glide Forums






Go Back   Road Glide Forums > Road Glide Specific Discussions > Troubleshooting for Road Glides

Troubleshooting for Road Glides List your Road Glide problems here, and DR. Ruth will answer them.


Advertisement
Order T-Shirts Here

Motorcycle Superstore

Make sure to Visit our Sponsors. They keep this site FREE!








Partner Links


Motorcycle Superstore









 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2011, 11:09 AM
ironmark's Avatar
ironmark ironmark is offline
Life Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: jackson , michigan
Posts: 3,910
Default How to Find your Diagnostic Trouble Codes

The speedometer is capable of displaying & clearing speedometer , tachometer TSM/TSSM , HFSM , ECM , ABS Diagnostic Trouble Codes also known as DTC's . The radios DTC's are retrieved through the radio and displayed through the radio display .

1 - Turn the ignition switch to off & run/stop switch is to run .
2 - Push odometer reset button in & HOLD .
3 - Turn the ignition switch on and then release odometer reset button . The background lighting should illuminate & the speedometer needle should sweep it's full range & indicator lamps ( battery , security , low fuel , check engine and cruise ) should illuminate . The word "DIAG" should then appear .
4 - Push the odometer reset button once and you will see the selection menu "PSSPtb" with the first P flashing .
5 - Each letter represents a area of the diagnostics module . The module that is flashing is the one you are going to check . To move from one letter to the next you must push the odometer reset button one time . ( from P to S to SP to t to b and back to P , ect ect )
P = ECM
S = TSM/TSSM/HFSM
SP = speedometer
t = tachometer
b = ABS codes
6 - To get the DTC code in a area of diagnostics you should PUSH & HOLD the odometer reset button in for 5 seconds and the release . If there are any DTC's the code will be displayed or the word " none " will appear if there are no DTC's . Push the odometer reset button again to view any additional codes if they exist .
7 - Record the codes .
8 - If DTC's are NOT to be cleared , press and release the odometer reset button . Part #of module will be displayed .
9 - If DTC's are to be cleared for that module , PRESS & HOLD the odometer reset button until " clear " is displayed .
10 - Press and release the odometer reset button to continue to the next module .
11 - Turn the ignition switch off to exit the diagnostic mode .
__________________
08 FLTR candy red sunglo, 103 Stage II, Woods TW-222 cams, V&H Dresser Duals with Monster Rounds, Thundermax tuner, Willy Shiny Wheels and Forks and a bunch of other stuff.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-22-2011, 01:06 PM
CHAINSAW's Avatar
CHAINSAW CHAINSAW is offline
Life Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SW Kansas - Hugoton
Posts: 8,226
Default

I stuck this thread, this is very useful information when your bike starts flashing codes at you.
__________________


For a wounded man shall say to his assailant,
'If I live, I will kill you. If I die, You are forgiven.'
Such is the rule of honor.


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2011, 11:14 PM
ironmark's Avatar
ironmark ironmark is offline
Life Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: jackson , michigan
Posts: 3,910
Default

The bike will not flash codes at you ,The bike will only display the "E" light . There are only 2 things that will happen when the "E" light shows .
1- The problem with the bike is NOT serious enough to stop the operation of the bike , but the "E" light is on showing that the ECM received codes.
2- The "E" light is on and problem is serious enough to the bikes ECM to put the bike in LIMP HOME MODE , which will disable the throttle .
__________________
08 FLTR candy red sunglo, 103 Stage II, Woods TW-222 cams, V&H Dresser Duals with Monster Rounds, Thundermax tuner, Willy Shiny Wheels and Forks and a bunch of other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2011, 08:04 AM
twowheel99 twowheel99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 500
Default

Is there a way to read the codes on a older model, like 1999 or 2000 that has stored a code??????
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2011, 10:07 AM
ironmark's Avatar
ironmark ironmark is offline
Life Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: jackson , michigan
Posts: 3,910
Default

The procedure listed above only works on 2004 and later models . There is a procedure for 2000 - 2003 models but to clear the codes you need to use a Scanalyzer or cycle the ignition 50 times , a cycle consists of a start and run cycle , the run cycle must last at lease 30 seconds .
__________________
08 FLTR candy red sunglo, 103 Stage II, Woods TW-222 cams, V&H Dresser Duals with Monster Rounds, Thundermax tuner, Willy Shiny Wheels and Forks and a bunch of other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2011, 12:50 PM
MikeMan's Avatar
MikeMan MikeMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Gainesville, GA
Posts: 442
Default

Thank you very much for this info! I just finished installing my AT100 and was watching the data update on my laptop while the bike was running on the lift. I unplugged the USB cable while the bike was running (mistake). Afterwards the security light would not go out when the ignition was turned on. Also, I had to pull in clutch before the bike would start. Following this procedure, I found and cleared code P0033 and life is good. Thanks again. Best forum around!!!!
__________________
2010 FLTRX
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2011, 07:46 AM
joke's Avatar
joke joke is offline
Grey beard
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 1,370
Default

Always good info to add to the manual - hoping to never have to read again! Thanks for the post.
__________________
2009 Mirage Orange

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2011, 08:12 AM
GLYDDN11's Avatar
GLYDDN11 GLYDDN11 is offline
Life Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 1,849
Default

Thanks for the information, this is why we keep coming back. You all are really good peoples.

Next question, and this might be a no brainer, but I have never done it. How do I know what the codes mean?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2011, 07:44 AM
rodman4106 rodman4106 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Default Code that cant be cleared

Being the smart guy that I am (lol) I decided to change by handlebars on my 09 and guess what happened?? I get a E light and cruise light changes colors between red and green. I took it back apart and everthing looks ok. I followed the procedure for clearing codes but still get code 1510 2122 2138. Which is the throttle grip sensor.

My question is what are my options?? Hard wire or should I repace the throttle grip sensor??

I appreciate any help you can offer

Bill
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2011, 07:56 AM
ameleo's Avatar
ameleo ameleo is offline
Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bonita Springs, Florida
Posts: 276
Default

Great post. Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


 


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.



Design By: Miner Skinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
H-D, Harley-Davidson, and Harley-Davidson Logos are registered trademarks of H-D Michigan, Inc. Harley-Davidson in no way endorses or is affiliated with this site.