Road Zepplin vs. Hammock FLTRU - Road Glide Forums
Road Glide Forums

Go Back   Road Glide Forums > Road Glide Specific Discussions > Seating: seats, backrests

Seating: seats, backrests SEATING: seats, backrests for Road Glides

Advertisement
Order T-Shirts Here

Motorcycle Superstore

Make sure to Visit our Sponsors. They keep this site FREE!

Partner Links

Motorcycle Superstore

Old 05-27-2011, 01:52 PM
Hangaround

Default Road Zepplin vs. Hammock FLTRU

I have been needing a new seat for my 2011 FLTRU, as my stock 2011 seat was wonderful on short trips, but at 150 miles my absolutely boney butt got numbness and butt burn. I like OEM Harley stuff, thus the choice for a new seat was between the Harley Hammock (000003) and the Road Zeppelin.

I went to the dealer and they were nice enough to let me try both. The Hammock is an incredible seat. Insanely comfortable and "soft", and with a nice reach to the ground (I have a 32 inseam). The only negatives were the passenger section slopes slightly forward, and the seat is somewhat "flat", with no bucket feel. It woud need a riders backrest for sure.

I then tried the Road Zeppelin and at first I thought the Hammock was clearly the winner. But then after riding a bit, I messed with the air seat adjustments and it became clear what the Road Zeppelin is all about. It is unbelievable the amount of range the air adjustments provide. You can go from sitting upright like on an old Panhead FL buddy seat to completely reclining like sitting in your car. This in turn changes your entire seating position, and of course the pressure on your butt/back. Lower back support is amazing, and the overall ride comfort is incredible.

The Zep is just like a fully adjustable luxury car seat, adjust until you feel "right", and ride.

Negatives for the Zep?

Yes:

1) With any amount of inflation, my feet do not touch the ground flat. The height it raises you while riding is not an issue, but coming to a stop can be unnerving.