Lifter inspection - what to look for? - Road Glide Forums
Engine Related Engine Builds and more for Road Glides

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 02-16-2016, 11:59 AM Thread Starter
Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 203
Lifter inspection - what to look for?

i'm going to take the rockers off soon to install rockouts and was going to inspect the health of the lifters while i am in there. the lifters are dragos in-house lifters and have about 7k on the clock. i don't suspect anything is wrong, just figured while i am there i could look them over.

what do you look for when inspecting lifter health?

2012 FLTRX - stage 1.5 headwork, dragos 580 cams, 10.25 comp, FM stage 1 intake, dragula 2, TTS, 13" windvest, 14" evil apes, JRI 12" shocks, progressive monotubes, hertz and alpine, hawg wired amp, custom LED gauges, custom dynamics LED signals, lots o' powder coat
San Diego, CA
modot66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 02-16-2016, 09:24 PM
Life Member
 
Smarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Royse City, Texas
Posts: 2,930
Well, look for wear marks on the rollers and on the cams. On the lifters also look at the sides for wear marks. I don't know anything about their lifters or who makes them. S&S standard lifters are about $100 and are great lifters. Good luck. I just changed out my 16 RGS lifters with 5000 miles on them because they had been rattling at start up fro up to 2 or 3 minutes. There has been a problem with the C lifters from Harley. S&S standards went in and is quiet as a mouse now.

2016 RGS Black Quartz
Smarty is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Road Glide Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inspection plate location suggestions vc323 *General Road Glide Discussions/Pictures 16 07-04-2012 09:18 PM
Snap-on BK6000 Inspection Scope Mcrider996 Miscellaneous for Sale 3 06-10-2012 12:32 PM
NY State Inspection Sticker placement? andytheuke Equipment-RG 17 03-29-2012 11:23 AM
Inspection stickers x52gnr *General Road Glide Discussions/Pictures 2 03-26-2012 11:42 AM
Stealer inspection Mack7 *General Road Glide Discussions/Pictures 2 05-02-2011 05:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome