1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts

·
Registered
2,928 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Being a newbie I've never had adjustable levers on a bike....what exactly do they do? Shorten the pull or just make it easier to pull?
I will try to explain it. With a HYD clutch there is no adjustment that allows you to move where clutch engages and disengages.
Adjustable levers allow you to move those points closer to the grip allowing for engagement sooner . Big advantage is better control with riding at very slow speed in the fiction zone. It will shorten the pull some also because the free play will be there when you adjust it in some. Some will feel a light pull also because the force to pull it is not as far out.
Nothing new they have been used on performance bikes for years.
The adjustable levers along with the extended brake pedal that lowers the sharp angle of the read pedal mad a world of difference on my 2016 for slow speed handling. Mine should get here after the 4th I will post some picture to show the difference.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Thanks for this thread, the clutch engaging when the lever was almost all the way out has been my only complaint about my '17 RGU. I have short fingers and felt this was almost a safety issue.
Placed order same day I read this.
- Dave

·
Registered
90 Posts
I will try to explain it. With a HYD clutch there is no adjustment that allows you to move where clutch engages and disengages.

Adjustable levers allow you to move those points closer to the grip allowing for engagement sooner . Big advantage is better control with riding at very slow speed in the fiction zone. It will shorten the pull some also because the free play will be there when you adjust it in some. Some will feel a light pull also because the force to pull it is not as far out.

Nothing new they have been used on performance bikes for years.