Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I’m new to the RG family and have a question. I bought my 2017 RGS with 300 miles on it from the dealer. I was told the bike had some upgrades but was never told it had a stage III kit. I feel like that’d be a selling point or a markup point.

I had my bike for about 3 days and the check engine light came on. I took it in and they told me it was running too rich. They “tuned” my bike and sent me on my way. While reviewing the dealer maintenance paperwork, it says “tuned engine for proper specifics (stage III).” My bike did include a tuner and it has a k&n style air intake.

Is there any way to know if my bike in fact has a stage III ? I’ve looked it up and it seems more of an internal engine upgrade than one that is readily apparent from the outside.

Sorry for the noob question. My last bike was a iron 883 bone stock lol.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hey Beech. A stage III will have a big bore 114 and cam. No outward sign, but the motor will pull deep to redline and lop a bit at idle. Clutch spring is also heavier over stack. I’m assuming a Harley kit, not aftermarket. Have fun!

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey Beech. A stage III will have a big bore 114 and cam. No outward sign, but the motor will pull deep to redline and lop a bit at idle. Clutch spring is also heavier over stack. I’m assuming a Harley kit, not aftermarket. Have fun!

I guess I’ll have to get to my redlines and see how she performs. Thank you very much.

·
Registered
337 Posts
If H-D stage III the heads should be engraved with "Screamin Eagle" on them and a heavier clutch pull.

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
It should sound like a beast if it has the stage 3. I guess if it has stock exhaust you really couldn’t tell. I am not sure the heads have any print on them with the stage 3. The stage 4 has CNC ported on the heads.

·
Premium Member
208 Posts