Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me start off by saying I'm not a mechanic . I'm going to describe this the best I know how. I have a 2019 RGS. I've had it for about 3 week. So far all I've done to the bike is add some slip ons and changed out the bars. Yesterday I took it in to my local Harley dealer for the 1000 miles service. It was at about 1150 miles. When I picked up the bike I was told everything was good and the bike checked out perfectly. Today I got on the bike and rode about 10 miles on the freeway and began to notice a small loss of power. It just didn't want to "go" like it normally would. When I got off the freeway the bike was running ruff, hot and back firing. I pulled into a gas station and called the dealer. They said ride the bike in (about 15miles freeway). On the ride there I noticed a pinging noise coming from the from of the engine, and a substantial loss of power. When I arrived there was oil all over the right side of the engine.

Dealer says there was over 20 ounces drained from the engine. apparently there is only supposed to be 6. They said this was a sump problem they've seen before. He also said that it appears there is enough damage to the engine the they will need to replace the pistons or give me a new engine. All of this pretty fucking frustrating after paying almost 30k for the bike. I'm really hoping for a new engine. It's kind of interesting that all this happened the day after they serviced the bike???? Has anyone else had this happen?
What do you guys think?

·
Registered
998 Posts