Road Glide banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I'm new here, but not new to bikes. I've been riding and customising bikes for over 30 years. I decided to sell my Indian that I had since 2015 and move back to HD. So I ordered a new CVORG in Mako back in early May and I'm supposed to be collecting and paying for it on the 1st of September here in the UK (the new reg plate comes out on that date). Delay in picking the bike up was due to my being overseas for quite a while. Anyway, I've been researching and following the oil migration and sumping problems for some time now and after much deliberation, my stealer has agreed to fit the HD vent kit on the bike for me prior to me collecting and paying for it. However, he won't budge on installing to revised oil pup, 'O' ringn gerotor etc, saying it hasn't sumped yet! I'm a huge believer in prevention rather than cure, but he says HD won't install it and that my 117ci engine might not even sump! Gave him the arguments about design flaws and whay they are being retro fitted to all M8's etc, but he says its an 8hr job for their techs to change it out, plus the pump costs etc... Anyway, I requested the VIN and Engine numbers from him a while back when i was ioverseas, but I can't find out much online using them both. I'm assuming that the bike build and engine build dates will be different and I'm also led to believe that all M8 engines built after 22nd May 2019 have had the revised oil pump already installed? If I post up the VIN and engine numbers here, could anyone find outmore information for me on the bike build date (i know its a 2019, but I don't know the month..?) and the engine build date please? My stealer says they have been trying, can't find out themselves?? I say BS...
Apologies for this lengthy first post about an issue that has been flogged to death, but I am not sure of my next move until I find out more ...
Cheers
Chillo (UK)

·
Registered
1,336 Posts