Road Glide banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
IPod Docking Harness 72651-11 took a crap and it is $140 at Harley so I am looking to just change the head unit now.
I am no expert in this area at all and I am sure this is a repeat of questions so I apologize.
Looking at the Alpine CDE-143BT head unit.
What do I need to use the handlebar controls?
Protective weather cover because I get caught in rain sometime?
Any issues hooking up the the J&M AMP JAMP 500HR11-UL?
Is my iPod interface I installed, 76476-10 Not needed anymore with the new head unit?
Best place to purchase equipment with easy installation instructions?
Credit card has an itch, :grin:

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
8,759 Posts
IPod Docking Harness 72651-11 took a crap and it is $140 at Harley so I am looking to just change the head unit now.
I am no expert in this area at all and I am sure this is a repeat of questions so I apologize.
Looking at the Alpine CDE-143BT head unit.
What do I need to use the handlebar controls?
Protective weather cover because I get caught in rain sometime?
Any issues hooking up the the J&M AMP JAMP 500HR11-UL?
Is my iPod interface I installed, 76476-10 Not needed anymore with the new head unit?
Best place to purchase equipment with easy installation instructions?
Credit card has an itch, :grin:

Thanks for the help
May I suggest the bt149 instead. Its got a better read out that's better seen during daylight. Its an awesome HU.
I went with this install kit with rain cover
Motorcycle Audio Accessories | V-Twin Audio & More » VTURCR, Combo! VTURA dash adapter, VTWCR water cover splash guard for 1998 to 2013 Harley FLTR Models
Hawgwired makes a good handlebar control interface, but if you're pinching pennies , the SCOSCHE HDSWC1 works well.

·
Registered
1,227 Posts