Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,743 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'll preface this post by saying that through my life (52 years young :)) I've done many many head unit, amp, speaker, subwoofer installs in my time. However, I'm new to the motorcycle audio upgrade crowd. I understand the fundamental differences in heat and power draw / switching circuitry between the various AMP classes and the affect that high current draw can have on a motorcycle charging system.

I've got a 2015 Road Glide that I'm considering amping up over the winter and I'm going to take a less traveled road than those willing / able to spend $300 - $400 dollars on an amp, and even those that swear the RF PBR300 series is the best motorcycle AMP for the money.

So with that being said, please resist the temptation to recommend Biketronics, JL or JM systems :)

Most of the AMPS I'm considering are class D such as;

Kenwood XR400-4 eXcleon

Alpine MRV-F300

Soundstream PN2.350D
Amazon.com: Soundstream PN2.350D 350W 2-Channel Picasso Nano Class D Amplifier: Car Electronics

But I've also ran across an interesting class A/B AMP from JBL;

JBL GX-A602
It's a smallish AMP rated at 85W RMS x2 2 Ohm, but again it is a class A/B amp.

What are the compelling reasons why I wouldn't choose a small A/B class AMP (like the JBL GX-A602) over one of the Class D AMPS I noted above?

Of the AMPS I listed which one would you choose?

This is a simple project, I can't spend $1000s of dollars to achieve my end results, I'm not going to any audio competitions and I don't need to have the loudest audio on the block. Just an improvement over stock.

I don't anticipate ever running a 4-speakers setup, so the AMP is strictly to power two 6.5" fairing speakers (JBL GTO638) that I may upgrade down the road to Kappas, Hertz or something else.

Thanks for the education and input.

·
Registered
8,588 Posts
I'm very happy with the SS pn nano line. Had problems with the RF 300x2.