Road Glide banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently installed a boom amp and speakers on my 2013 RGU. First I want to state clearly I am not an audio expert, nor do I strive to have the loudest and baddest sounds bellowing from my bike.

I simply want to hear my radio clear and crisp distortion free at interstate speeds.

Prior to installing an amp, my local hd shop recommended that I first try the upgrade to the boom speakers as an amp may not be necessary and that could possibly keep me from spending money unnecessarily ( yes my local shop does care about giving customers good advice, not necessarily selling products that a customer does not need)

The result was far better than stock, and at 60 mph was acceptable, but on an interstate, in order to hear above road noise volume was at 75 to 80% and I could detect distortion. So I wasn't satisfied and wanted an amp.

So I had the boom amp installed a week after having speaker grade.
WOW ! What a difference! Clear and crisp, at interstate speeds using 40 to 50 % volume. I am sold!!!

After reading all the negative comments about boom on this forum, I had to post my results. Agreed, there are louder systems available, but for a guy who has been riding for 47 years and enjoys listening to XM radio while he rides, Boom gets it done. For those that want their bikes so loud it could be used for music at a block party, they might not be happy.

I chose boom over j&m simply because I had no access to support on the product when j&m trailer was not in town for the rally ( I live near Daytona)
My local hd shop supports boom products.

I was influenced by all the negative comments on boom on this forum, so I was reluctant to go boom. But, I am glad I did. The system meets my requirements hands down

·
Registered
7,034 Posts
Boom AMP & Speakers

Sounds like you have what you like, enjoy as that is what is important.

·
Registered
120 Posts