Road Glide banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got an 05 that is currently stripped down awaiting a new bottom end. I figured while it's apart, I'd like to put some better cams in. Right now, I have true duals, a SE air cleaner, and power commander. The dealer recommended SE203 cams. What about aftermarket? Better options? I'm not afraid to admit that I'm VERY new to this, so any information is good information. I have limited funds, so I don't want to get too far in the woods with different pushrods, springs, and stuff like that. Just cams for now. I'm looking for midrange torque. Thanks for any suggestions.

·
Registered
418 Posts
I have an 03 heritage that I converted to a trike for health reasons. It just would not do a thing at highways speeds. I had the dealer put a HD 205 in and it made all the difference in the world to the mid range torque. They couldn't dyno the trike so just a flash of the existing unit seemed to suffice.

·
Registered
27 Posts
I had an '01 Road King and I went with the Screaming Eagle kit w/ the 96" big bore and 203 cam and a Power Commander. I do my own work now, but at the time I had the dealer install it. So, bottom line is no tuner, only about $1200 in parts, ~$350 in labor and the bike woke up real nice! I'm not saying there are not better options, but that worked great for me without breaking the bank. I have since learned how to break the bank as you can see by my signature. Good luck!

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I split about 50/50 between riding solo and two up. I'm not too concerned about the power when I'm solo. Just when we're loaded down and want to get around the big rigs on the interstate. It's getting the new cam tensioner kit. I don't know if, or when I'll do the 95" kit. Thanks for the help everybody!

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·