Road Glide banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,419 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok I'm far from an expert so cut me a break if I use incorrect terminology. So I removed the outer fairing and while reinstalling, I cross threaded one of the lower fairing screws. It is one of the screws that hold on the lower air deflectors (I believe HD calls them "Willy Wings"). It is on there (but cross threaded) so I don't want to drill the screw out until I have the replacement parts.

Here's my question: Is the part that the screw goes into replaceable or would it have to be repaired? Again, the fairing is on so I can't see if the "screw hole" is a part of the fairing or if it is something that can be removed and replaced.

I case my description isn't clear, I have included a picture. It is the top lower fairing screw. Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
278 Posts
It's hard to tell if it screws into the inner fairing or a ferrule from the parts diagram. You might have to take the outer fairing off unless someone else on here has had the same issue.

It there is a ferrule you can buy another one.

·
Registered
2,419 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's hard to tell if it screws into the inner fairing or a ferrule from the parts diagram. You might have to take the outer fairing off unless someone else on here has had the same issue.

It there is a ferrule you can buy another one.
Thanks, I actually went to the dealer to ask. They said that the "screw hole" is part of the fairing and would have to be repaired.

·
Registered
1,812 Posts
There are 2 screws per wing. The bottom screw connects the inner and outer fairing. The top screw's only function is to hold the wing on.
You can leave the cross threaded screw as is, try to chase the threads with a die, or silicone a screw in. I wouldn't use JB Weld in case that you have to replace the wing at some point.

·
Registered
2,419 Posts
Discussion Starter #8