Road Glide banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Administrator
10,983 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First I have a RoadTech Zumo GPS/Bluetooth ..

I don't have a schmartt phone , I have a flipped out phone , but am thinking of a schmartt one

Question is this ..

How much data is being used with the GPS and surfing the web .. .

JtB

·
Registered
1,477 Posts
the big users of data are streaming audio/video. I'm no expert but it was explained to me like this: the phone has a gps chip in it so for gps it doesn't use much data however it will be looking for a cell tower which will eat up data.

I do use my phone for a gps most times and what I tend to do is if its a long trip I will turn the phone to airplane mode on the long stretches of road so its not killing the battery or using data trying to find its location.

I may be WAAAAY wrong though!

·
Registered
6,832 Posts
Just use the GPS and you won't have any issues.
All I use is my Garmin Nuvi 1490 LMT on a Ram mount and my old fashion flip phone and I have no problems.
The GPS will tell you where hotels/motels are and gas stations and places to eat, what else do you need on a road trip.

·
Administrator
10,983 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Nothing really needed , was just curious , the last road trip we made , my computer illiterate riding partner said :

What ya need to do is what you used to do , read a map ..

I use my RT as a high dollar mp3 player and BT device ..

Too easily caught up in technology

JtB

·
Registered
1,812 Posts
I was trying my Samsung S5 GPS in my Mustang. I guess it went out of range, and I didn't notice. When it found another signal, I was past my turn, and got routed in the wrong direction. Once was enough for me. I bought another Garmin to replace my obsolete, broken one.
Also the smart phone volume was nowhere loud enough, even in a car.

·
Registered
8,152 Posts