Road Glide banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm not here to argue whether you should disable your ABS system or not. But, if you want to, or NEED to (my situation for safety reasons), this was the easiest way to have your bike resort to the default brakes and bi-pass the ABS (for free and little work).

The reason I had to do this, was because I had complete ABS modulator failure. When I stepped on the foot brake, all I got was solid pressure and a rapid pulsating from my brake pedal; along with complete brake failure on rear brake, it also caused my front left caliper to drag for the first 1 mile until the system would realize it wasn't working properly and automatically disable the ABS. The problem was that a mile down the road with a dragging front caliper and little to no brakes made for a super sketchy ride. What I needed to do was have the ABS shut off as soon as I started riding it so I would have brakes and not have to wait for the automatic ABS override to kick in.

There is no ABS fuse (2015+) that I am aware of. But, if you go under your right quarter panel you can find your ABS module system. To the left of the system you will see a big power connector that connects the ABS to power but also to the brains of the bike. It is the biggest plug that connects directly into the ABS module and you cant miss it. Disconnect it, zip tie it up, and tape off the ends to avoid moisture and your bike will resort immediately to the brakes most of us grew up with. The only thing that it will affect is your ABS light will remain on.