Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay I'm still new to motorcycles but I'm sure this is not supposed to happen. As I was riding yesterday my gear shift linkage came off:eek:. The crazy part is that all the parts were still there it just some how backed off from the gear box:confused:. This is on a brand new 2011 road glide custom and it just had the 1000 mile service done last week:(. When they came to pick up my bike, the guy said as long as he has worked on bikes he never once even heard of this happening.

Sixnine68

·
Registered
2,231 Posts
Most dealers have low-skilled assembly people many of whom screw up quite often. My saddle bag bolts were never tightened and they damn near fell off on my summer ride to Vegas last year.

·
Registered
629 Posts
Could you have just threaded it back onto the gear box lever? I have heard about the linkage joints breaking, but to have one just fall off seems really odd. Even if it were backing out, it seems like you would have noticed a change in the shifting prior to it actually coming completely off.
See if you can get the dealer to give you a good discount on the HD custom linkage. It is MUCH better than stock, and I think you can make an argument that their pre-delivery inspection and their 1K service were a bit slip-shod...
Good luck.
Ian

·
Registered
1,634 Posts
My linkage rod fell apart once....but I had over 40K on the bike when it happened. Seems odd for it to just fall off.....hmmmmm.

·
Registered
2,181 Posts
It happens. The problem is that the stock linkage doesn't have a heim joint. You can add heim joints or by a new linkage and it will never happen again.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Called dealership, they all were scratching their heads :confused: but it's back together and I will be picking up my bike today after work :D other than that they have no clue on why and how it happened.

sixnine68

·
Registered
250 Posts