Road Glide banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Look for a little help when it comes to GPS for my RG. We usually travel with a map, and have loved it since day one. I’ve been tempted to get a GPS unit, but don’t want to always take the quickest shortest route. I’d like to have one that allows me to plot a course on my computer then upload to the unit, but I have ZERO knowledge of these units. Any and all help will be appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
498 Posts
You can get fancy or keep it simple with a gps. I prefer it to a map because it's easier to follow while I'm riding or driving and, most importantly, will always get me back on the right course. Even if I deviate from the course on purpose and want to do a little exploring. As long as I have a destination programmed then I'll always be aware of the general direction I should be heading.

If you want to get fancy you can plot out your whole trip on the computer with Google maps and then download it to the gps. No matter how complicated the route might be. The concept is that everything between the start and end points are put in as waypoints. There are a bunch of websites that can help you, especially for garmins

If you want to keep it simple then you can just use the gps to get you to a point on the route that you've picked on your paper map. When you're there you plug in the next point, and so on. Again, the unit can just be used as a backup to keep you on a general course towards your final destination.

As far as the actual gps unit goes, I prefer regular garmin nuvi's. They're a lot less money than the motorcycle specific ones and you can get a weatherproof cover and clamp for about $25.

·
Registered
27 Posts