Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to rap up my winter projects as the weather is slowly turning warmer. Down to the radio.

I have a RF PBR300X4 amp and Kicker 4 ohm speakers. I turn the power on and there is very little volume. I have to turn up the volume almost all the way just to hear anything. What did I do wrong. Please understand that I am NOT very good with vehicle audio!

·
Registered
148 Posts
Where is the gain set on your amp?
Are you using the stock head unit?
How is the amp connected to the head unit?

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Connections are good and not touching. They are currently just twisted together for a test run before I soder everything. I adjusted the gain, it's at 5 but the volume increased very little.

·
Registered
8,288 Posts
Figured out the volume problem. Now the amp "pops" when I raise the volume. Cool, a new problem!
What was the problem?
Popping is a sign of a bad ground. Is the Amp grounded at the battery ? It should be.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Running the ground all the way back to the battery is a bad idea. The shorter the run for your ground, the better. Mine is grounded at the triple tree and I don't have any noise, hiss or popping. Just make sure it's clean (no paint) and add a little dielectric grease to keep the connection corrosion free.

·
Registered
8,288 Posts
Running the ground all the way back to the battery is a bad idea. The shorter the run for your ground, the better. Mine is grounded at the triple tree and I don't have any noise, hiss or popping. Just make sure it's clean (no paint) and add a little dielectric grease to keep the connection corrosion free.
Rockford Fosgate's directions tell you to ground off the battery only.

On a motorcycle, there are no long ground runs.

·
Registered
3,638 Posts
check the input voltage with a meter ( factory speaker outs )

adjust the input voltage level on the amp