Road Glide banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Gray Beard
1,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just thought i would add my contribution to the members as many have done for me.
I do this for a living now days and the starter on our bike is very reliable and can give years or service save for one component the contacts. Mind you a new starter is between $195 and $360 so with a little work and about $11.00 you can get more life out of the unit you have.

1. disconnect negative terminal on the battery.

2. remove battery cable at the starter and remove starter switch wire.

3. remove the starter.

4. once on the bench

5. remove the 3 scews covering the plunger and contacts

6. remove the plunger

at this point you'll know right away if the contacts are worn out as seen in the picture this will give you a click no crank issue.

7. next remove the nut and jumper wire from solenoid to motor case seen in pic 1

8. then remove the nuts holding the contact studs (one side at a time is best so as not to get studs or contacts mixed up)

note: the difference between worn and new

then pry off the contacts from the studs and replace new

·
Gray Beard
1,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #2

i use a 7/16 deep socket and small hammer to seat the new contact on the stud.

8. repeat step 7 on the other side with the finish as such

9. clean the plunger on a wire wheel on the bench grinder or emery cloth

10. replace plunger and spring assembly into the solenoid housing and replace cover and screws.

while you have it out you can also inspect the brushes and armature

emery cloth works well on the armature

the easiest way to inspect is just remove the back cover on the motor portion of the starter 2 small screws and 2 long then holding the winding case tap the rear cover off with a small hammer the further in the brush spring is the more worn the brush is.

I can post more pics if necessary.

·
Registered
593 Posts
Starter