Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, this has probably been discussed before...but I couldn't find it. I'm looking to upgrade my stock speakers and add an amp. For now I'm only replacing existing speakers, I may add 2 more to the inner faring later on. What do you guys recommend between these 3? I have a lot of experience with JL in boats and they are great speakers! But I have no experience with bike speakers. I'm buddies with a local stereo shop that will hook me up with a pair of JL 6.5's for around $150 and either an Alpine or a Fosgate amp for about $150-200. What do you guys recommend. I want the best sound quality, loudness/volume isn't top priority.

·
Registered
672 Posts
Stay away from J&M and HW if your wanting sound quality. Ive heard BOTH at JP Cycles open house and wasnt impressed. My Boom Audios sounded similar to them.

·
Registered
998 Posts
I had J&M and they were OK. Very loud but I wasn't crazy about the tinny sound they had. I replaced them with Hawg Wired ZX and I love them. Venomized, I did not see a Hawg Wired boot at the J&P open house, I wonder if you are confusing them with Hog Tunes. I also have had Hog Tunes and there is a huge differance between them and Hawg Wired. I think you will be better off listening to them yourself to make up your mind. Do a search on here on speakers and you will find a ton of opinions.

·
Administrator
12,452 Posts
I have to agree with "the dude", only thing I'll add is if you're able to get top shelf JL speakers for that price, I'd probably go that direction, the Hawgwired are going to be a little more $$$$.

Sent from my SPH-L710

·
Registered
286 Posts
I have only had ARC Audio and JL Audio - and JL audio (2 pair in the faring) was a significant upgrade.

I have a Sony head unit, a JL Audio amp, and 2 pair of the JL Audio 6.5's in the fairing. See picks in my album.