Road Glide banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not sure if I am going about this the right way, but I have installed some LED's on my speakers, and would like to be able to turn them on when the bike is not running and locked. I think I will need to have a direct lead from the batter to be able to do this.

So it seems like I will need a lead from the positive side and one from the negative, and the positive should be fused. Is there a way to run a control switch up to the nacelle under the handlebars? I would love to put one in there and then eventually add more LEDs to the whole bike all fed off that same circuit and controlled from the same place.

I am not very good with electrical. I can handle a lot, in fact, installed all of the wiring for the stereo upgrades, pulled tank, etc. no problems. I am just a little confused on this one. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
896 Posts
I think your logic is correct. You should be able to run wires under the tank along the backbone of the bike and go under the nacelle.

Another suggestion for the switch location: (forgive my lack of technical terms) behind the motor above/behind the starter there is a metal plate that runs diagonal upwards. There are a few predrilled holes in that plate. You can screw a switch in one of those holes and keep your handlebar area clean.

·
Registered
5,170 Posts
Don't know yr your bike, I'd put a hidden switch under seat pan to the left, run pwr fairing mount tounder tank and junction on fairing mount to left, ya know that hollow space, access by turning bars to left, no pinch, switch near under seat could pwr front and back runs of lights, I'd likely pwr from fuse block on left and not battery

·
Registered
43 Posts
As reds4 and mailman13357 said before me ... try and conceal the switch.