Road Glide banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
729 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to fixing little things on my bike, I like learning how to do but some projects are just too hard. I recently had upper fork sliders that I had painted installed, tonight I was cleaning the front fork and when I got down to the axle bolt cover of the front wheel I was able to unscrew it by hand? I totally unscrewed it and removed the bolt from the chrome axel bolt cover, I put some blue locktite on it and screwed it back on then tightened real good with a wrench, then I installed the chrome cover and tightened it over the bolt, did I do the right thing? what was the tech in a rush? good thing it didn't unscrew while I was riding, could it have? now that I am paranoid I removed the axle bolt cover on the other side and there is no screw just a round cylinder with two holes, is that right? sorry I am new at this but with stuff like this happening that I paid for next time I would rather do it myself and the right way, thanks for all your help:confused:

·
Registered
326 Posts
No, it shouldn't loosen up no matter what! If it's torqued properly you shouldn't need loctite either.

Now check the pinch bolts on the bottom...

·
Registered
729 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the help, now dont laugh im new at working on my bike, where are the pinch bolts?:eek:

·
Registered
326 Posts
thanks for the help, now dont laugh im new at working on my bike, where are the pinch bolts?:eek:
No laughing here, we all started somewhere. The pinch bolts are the 2 on the under side of the right fork tube. Under the "round cylinder with two holes". They hold the front axle.

·
Registered
2,016 Posts
No laughing here, we all started somewhere. The pinch bolts are the 2 on the under side of the right fork tube. Under the "round cylinder with two holes". They hold the front axle.
these are in/lbs so don't go horsing them or you will snap them off.

·
878 Posts