Road Glide banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite BOTM winner for the year of 2021 HERE!
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am getting ready to install a woods 22 XE, Fueling 4017 Race series lifters, SE pushrods ( suggested by Bob Woods ) new HD cam plate and latest oil pump ( suggested by Bob Woods ) S&S cam chain tensioner, fullsax MX header, Rinehart DBX 40 ( rebaffled with Fullsac 2" perforated baffle suggested by Fullsac Performance ) . My question is should I pull the oil pan to clean it out completely. I do have a electric pump that I can put the hose down into the oil fill and pull all the oil out that way after draining, I am also changing the oil control valve out to the S&S, ( better quality) and plan on evacuating the oil cooler withy my pump at that time also before attaching the hose to the new OCV. Will these measures be sufficient or do I need to pull the pan. Thank you. PS: this is my first time in a HD engine.

·
Registered
240 Posts
Do you have any sign of something is worn out in your engine? Have metal in oil filter? Why pulling the oil pan? To clean the newer oil pan that are disposable you would have to grind the rivets holding the windage tray to do an effective cleaning, machine treads and bolt it back together after. There is some picture on the web about someone doing so.

·
Registered
353 Posts
Welcome! Was there a previous failure or is this just an upgrade? If it's just an upgrade, I've never heard of the need to pull oil pan for the work you're doing. Interested to hear what others say regarding your question because I'm just a shade-tree.