Road Glide banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
498 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Researching the interwebs trying to figure out what height madstad I need to satisfy (placate?) my wife. I left a message last week but haven't heard anything yet. I know from their website that a 13" or 14.5" would be fine for me at 6'1". The issue is that she is 5'10". If I hedge my bets and get a 16" will it be too tall for me to see over comfortably?

But all this got me thinking. what about putting something like my LRS Mako with the little flip on the madstad base? Wouldn't that give me the best of both worlds? Or better?

Bear in mind, I am not an aerodynamics engineer.

·
Registered
4,070 Posts
I think you would be wasting your money unless you just have one lying around. The 14.5 will be fine for the both of you. By yourself you won't need it all the way up. You can raise it for her. I am also 6'1" and I love my 11" shield in the summer and I sometimes go to a 13" in cold weather if I'm going on a long haul. Keep in mind that even if she gets hit by wind it is much smoother than what you can get from any other shield and she will not be beaten to death with buffeting and feel like a bobble head doll. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
8,824 Posts
Researching the interwebs trying to figure out what height madstad I need to satisfy (placate?) my wife. I left a message last week but haven't heard anything yet. I know from their website that a 13" or 14.5" would be fine for me at 6'1". The issue is that she is 5'10". If I hedge my bets and get a 16" will it be too tall for me to see over comfortably?

But all this got me thinking. what about putting something like my LRS Mako with the little flip on the madstad base? Wouldn't that give me the best of both worlds? Or better?

Bear in mind, I am not an aerodynamics engineer.
Someone tried that with the Wind vest. Its been a while , but I believe they said the flip caused some turbulence.