Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
623 Posts
To be honest with you, I would hope everybody could do that. I practice that exact thing regularly when I go to parking lots. I am a former motor cop myself so the cone riding and tight turns are something I enjoy practicing but really, everybody should be able to turn within two parking spaces, or if not, damn close to it.

I'm definitely a little rustier than I was when I was doing it for a living and taking the risks on the employer-owned bike. Something about scratching up your own paint job and breaking off your own levers will take a bit of the fun about pushing the envelope :)

·
Registered
6,680 Posts
Turns on a road glide

Very nicely done, I'd like to practice on my bike but I don't want to drop my bike and have to pay for the repairs.

·
Registered
1,870 Posts
Drag the rear brake, slip the clutch, keep the rpms up, and listen for the board to drag.

That first time you get it over that far is an act of faith. But after that it's not bad.

Long as I can get it done on a two lane road, I'm pretty happy.

·
Registered
258 Posts
Last year, I had it down to a 20 ft turn on the '13 Ultra Limited, couldn't quite get to 18' though. I'd love to be able to do it. I've dropped the 13 numerous times practicing and found that the engine/bag guards do a fine job of protecting the bike. Only problem, damage wise, was that I had to readjust the highway pegs.

A bigger issue for me, is that I'm unable to pick the bike up by myself. If I could, I'd practice much more often. The folks that have been teaching me, have appeared in some of Motorman's videos. I'm not always aware of when they get together to practice though.

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
I saw his video a few weeks ago and went out to try it. Can't do it. Closest I can get is a little less than 2 and a half spaces. That was on my 13RGU. Just traded for a new to me 15CVORGU. I ain't about to chance dropping it!!

·
Super Moderator
12,295 Posts