Road Glide banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so im new to having a harley. 3 weeks. Bought a 2007 road glide with the 96 ci. Came home tonight has been running great snd pulled off the highway clutch in and died. Throttle wouldnt bring it back. It fired right bsck up. Yes there is plenty of gas. I was doing 55 for about 7 miles in 6th gear. Was wondering if i shoukd have atayed in 5th???? Sorry for what might be a dumb question but could use some input. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
4,386 Posts
Ok so im new to having a harley. 3 weeks. Bought a 2007 road glide with the 96 ci. Came home tonight has been running great snd pulled off the highway clutch in and died. Throttle wouldnt bring it back. It fired right bsck up. Yes there is plenty of gas. I was doing 55 for about 7 miles in 6th gear. Was wondering if i shoukd have atayed in 5th???? Sorry for what might be a dumb question but could use some input. Thanks in advance.
No. The gear don't matter. 55 in 6th is not a big deal. Had it done it again? Or just the one time?

·
Registered
6,640 Posts
Just a guess but maybe you need to change the fuel filter. 55mph in 6th gear wouldn't cause your problem. Clean or replace the air filter and putting in new spark plugs wouldn't hurt either.

·
Registered
8,856 Posts
Are you sure you didn't bump the kill switch ? Like Mark said start with new plugs and a new AC element , then move on to a fuel filter. All this can be done under a shade tree with limited tools.

Reactions: michaelgrudgings

·
Registered
7,224 Posts
Sorry to hear that, I hope you figure it out soon. Welcome to the forum

·
Registered
116 Posts
My 2012 shut off on me a couple of times while riding and it turned out to be the ignition switch. It would move just enough to shut the bike down.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2 Posts