Road Glide banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone tried to install a 2013 Harley Factory unit on an older bike yet?

I like the new touch screen with all the bells and whistles on it and was wondering if anyone has tried to install one in a 2012 RGC....

I know there would be some modifications to the dash itself but no worries there...

I just noticed that the handlebar controls are totally different as well and wonder how hard it would be to change everything over for my bike...

Mike.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
111 Posts
The radio on the 14's will not fit in the cowling of older bikes. not enough room. One of the reasons why the 14's cowling was redesigned.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
188 Posts
Has anyone tried to install a 2013 Harley Factory unit on an older bike yet?

I like the new touch screen with all the bells and whistles on it and was wondering if anyone has tried to install one in a 2012 RGC....

I know there would be some modifications to the dash itself but no worries there...

I just noticed that the handlebar controls are totally different as well and wonder how hard it would be to change everything over for my bike...

Mike.
I think you got the 13 and 14s confused. 14 has the new radio.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No I know that the 14 has the new large radio. I am going to fabricate a new dash for my bike and put one of the new touchscreen radios in it.

My question is has anyone already tried this? If so do you have a part list of the items needed to connect it all up?

I know there is some audio guru out there that has thought about this already....

Mike.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
What wrayzor was saying is that 2013 is the same Harmon Kardon as before. The 2014 has the touchscreen infotainment system. Anything is possible...I just think molding in a double din radio bezel from fairung factory or others would be more cost effective. The new bar wiring which controls all radio and electronics is a Can-bus system and each handlebar control now only has a handful of wires running (makes ape wiring a cakewalk). Each button on 2014 have a microprocessor behind each and that would be kinda hairy wiring in. Like I said though..anything is possible..just not always cost effective. A good diubke din with flip and nav can be found considerably cheaper nowadays, factor in Hawgwired wiring adapter for it and the body and paint work to mold a double din bezel...I think you would still be ahead of the game as far as price. Good luck...just .02 let us know what u decide.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top