Road Glide banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Shark of the Month October 13
7,616 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just received the latest "Cycle World" mag and Harley bought the back cover - typically a very expensive ad placement. The ad features what I'd guess to be a 20/30-something year old female rider with her blond hair flowing out the back of her helmet. The headline is, "Electrifying the Urban Grid." In small type it says, "Experience the LiveWire and bolt into the electric future - a future that goes 0-60 in 3 seconds with a twist of the throttle. No clutch, no shifting, just pure exhilaration." That's the whole ad.

As a former marketing manager, I always take notice of the key elements of such advertisements. Based on this full page picture ad, it appears that HD feels that young women are potentially buyers of the LiveWire. Really? I certainly wouldn't have guessed that young ladies are a significant targeted market segment who will consider a LiveWire over other models. The ad goes on to say, " ..... No clutch, no shifting, just pure exhilaration." Hmmm. So the inference here is that women can't (or won't) buy/ride a bike with a clutch and standard transmission. The 2-3 female riders I know personally would be offended by that obviously sexist inference.

I just shake my head and wonder what they're thinking in Milwaukee.

·
7,616 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'd suggest that doing a review doesn't cost anything, but shelling out $30k for the bike is a whole different kettle of fish. KS - do you really think that 20-something females were a significant targeted market segment when they designed this bike? I don't see it but I've been surprised before.

·
Registered
385 Posts