Road Glide banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Premium Member
2011 Road Glide Ultra CVO FLTRUSE
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the title says, total noob here. But, this noob is excited as hell to be joining the riding family! 47 year old married father of 4. I have a bunch of friends who ride, plus an older brother. I've never ridden a touring bike before. Had a Ninja 600R 30 years ago as an 18 year old. Road my brother's road king around the block a few times, that's it. So what do I do? I go out and buy one of the biggest bikes made from what I'm told. HA I really didn't mean to honestly. As the saying goes, here's what happened: Looking for a bike, budget around 7k, when a bike found me. Long story short, a 75 year old gentleman had bought this bike and rode it sparingly for a few years and then, as older men are want to do, he broke his hip in a fall. Never got back to the point of riding. Finally decided to sell his 2011 Road Glide Ultra CVO (FLTRUSE) with 11,500 miles on it. He made me an offer I couldn't refuse.

Here's the deal though, I'm taking it very seriously while also enjoying the new experience (and experiences to come) immensely. Took the safety course, watching tons of videos on slow speed riding, bought the ride like a pro series, getting in parking lots practicing starting, stopping, turning, with the wife on the back before even trying to ride with her. So yes, I know it wasn't the best route buying the biggest bike as my first bike, but I'm trying to do it right. I know squat about engines and stuff. Can't change the oil. But I'm a voracious reader. Last thing I want to do is go out and embarrass myself somewhere. I'm learning. I'm studying. I'm practicing. And I'm damn excited to be joining the riding family. So's the wife.