Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just recently picked up my new FLTRU. Had the dealer install V&H power duals, raider mufflers w/quiet baffles, ventilater ac, and SE race tuner. Was noticing a little more vibration than normal from the get go. At the first wash around 100 miles, I noticed one of the heat shields was touching the tranny cover. Took it back and they readjusted it. Did not make any difference.
This vibration starts at approx. 2K and gets worse with rpms, any gear, any speed, even in neutral. It's a buzzing type vibration and is felt in the handlebars, seat, shifter, and clutch and brake handles. After two rides of around 150 miles I felt like I had been on an ironhead sporty. At this point I should mention that I've been riding Harley touring bikes ( EG's ) since 2002 and have over 100k miles on them and have been riding two wheels for 40 years. I've never had one that felt like this, not even close. It currently has 700 miles and feels like it's getting worse instead of better.
I've looked closely for any other contact w/exhaust but don't see any. At delivery the dealer I think used a stage one flash for temporary use until I get it on the dyno, but it's running pretty good so I don't feel like its a tuning issue. I absolutely love this bike. Compared to the batwings the handling is unbelievable.
My fear is getting the "they all do that" from HD, or it's within spec.
Any ideas ? Anyone deal with this issue? Telling someone my Harley has a vibration sounds like the start of a good joke.
I will take it to the dealer soon, but just wanted to get a few more miles to monitor if it's getting any worse.

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
You know it's not right....The dealer installed the parts; take it back and make them fix it.

It's impossible to diagnose something like this over the internet. Could be anything from the brake lever touching the headpipe to a slipped crank.

·
Registered
2,931 Posts