Road Glide banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just purchased a brand new set of Pioneer 6.5" speakers for my 15 RGS. after install the highs and mids sound great but the low end (bass) is distorted and sounds like crap. any advise to correct this?

Additionally I have already purchased a Kenwood 4ch, 400 Watt amp (just awaiting on delivery) to install along with lower fairings with 5.25" Kicker speakers. Am I going to encounter this same issue again after that install?

I am a medically retired veteran and frankly cannot afford Harley labor rates to have them diagnose this untill I can get the VA to finally fix my disability percentages.

Any help anyone could offer with this would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
47 Posts
The most likely culprit is that you don't have enough power to push the bass. So it will distort. In the interim, you can reduce the bass on the head unit until amps is installed. Once you get the amp installed, you will want to tweak the bass frequency response and amp gain for each channel to get the best sound out of each group of speakers. When you make the adjustments, set bass/treble in the middle then turn the volume all the way up on a couple of songs with good bass to them. Then begin making the gain and bass frequency adjustments.

I will be taking apart the fairing to make adjustments like this over the weekend on mine.

·
Registered
803 Posts
Keep in mind that you're not going to get great bass response out of any fairing or lower speakers on a bike. Sure you will get some, but nothing like what you would get in a car. If you are happy with the mids/lows and have some bass without distortion that's the norm. If you really want thumpin' bass you're gonna need to look at speakers in your bags.