Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to touring bikes, and bikes with stereos, so I'm completely lost when it comes to upgrading mobile audio. Please excuse my ignorance.BUT.... I recently installed some speakers (no aMP at this time) I soldered the connections, GOT EVERYTHING put back together after listening to then to "make sure" the connections were good... But when I went for a test ride, the sound coming from the speakers sounded like it was being played on a record. There was piping and cracking (like static). The ironic thing is, it only happens while riding. Never when it's just sitting there...

Any opinions on what I need to do... Check?

I'm not ANYWHERE familiar with mobile audio, as I am with Home Audio...

Any help would be Greatly Appreciated!

Jay

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
672 Posts
Whats the speaker model? What source are you using (CD/AUX/RADIO)? Did you ceck your connections to make sure theyre correct polarity and not loose? Youll get a "hallway effect" if ones correct polarity and the others not. The static sound could be a loose coonection.

If all you changed was speakers then the speakers have to be the culprit.

·
Registered
7,236 Posts
+1 with the check connections and polarity. I have the stock radio, polk 6.5 and no amp and its a vast improvement over the stock speakers. I can hear clearly up to about 80mph. Granted its not as good as it could be with an amp but definately better than stock speakers

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It doesn't matfer if I listen to Radio,CD, Aux, via Bluetooth for Music off of my phone.... I KNOW the connections are secure....on the speaker end, but I extended the wires and butt connected at that point.
The speakers are ALL that I changed...