Road Glide banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well after months of research I decided on doing a handle bar swap as a DIY project. I studied the manual and followed the threads. Everything was going great last night. I had the faring removed, wires run (a pain but 4 hours later and complete) with all existing wires to include TBW. I follow everyone advice and used soap and use a small chain to pull the wires. Well now I have the bars on the bike and now I can not get the deutsch connectors (inner fairing) (left and right controls) back together!!!! The pins are not locking in place and I can get the connector back together. The connectors are easy to take apart and a pain to reassemble. I can get these pins to line up. Does anyone know any tricks or recommendations? I am almost done except for those connectors!!!

Stats:
Bike: 2010 Road glide Custom
Bars: Wild 1’s Outlaw mini apes (12 inch)
Wires: All Stock wires
Re-routed clutch

help!!!:(

·
Registered
319 Posts
You have to play around with the connectors. There is a certain way that they go in and they will lock. I stuck mine all the way through, then twisted it around and pulled them back into the bracket to seat the connectors. The key is to get them all in and hurry up and push the plate back in the connector around the pins before they move. That what locks them in and lines them up. Its just frustrating but you will eventually get it.

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
hmmm the connectors were easy except for the one pin I broke. I almost started putting the pins in backwards at first though. Make sure you got them the right way they should just almost fall into place. Don't hurry....no need.

I had problems routing the clutch cable however.

cheers!

·
Registered
272 Posts