Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to touring bikes just getting my 13 RGC on April 6th. So far I have 3200 miles on her. Today I did my personal best with a 381 mile trip. I left St Robert MO at 9:30am. I stopped at Ozark HD to grab a qt of oil and continued west. I passed through Joplin MO and turned north in Miami OK. After crossing the KS line I headed back easy into MO. I stopped in Joplin for lunch and mounted up for the return trip. I thought about stopping on the way back but pushed through the rest of the way home. My last leg was 160 miles without a stop. I arrived at the house at 4:30pm. Not nearly what some of y'all on here do but it's my longest yet. If I can get the time off next weekend my gf and I are going to try for an overnight trip to Sioux Falls SD.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Super Moderator
12,428 Posts
Nice ride, when I first saw the thread I thought you went that far on a tank of gas......I was going to see what you did to do that.

·
Registered
1,481 Posts
Nice ride, when I first saw the thread I thought you went that far on a tank of gas......I was going to see what you did to do that.
Me too :D :D.

Sounds like a cool ride Punishher7... just hit the road and go wherever it takes you and 300-400 is a damn fine ride when it's just out-and-about.

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
I consider the wife and I to be the king and queen of slack-ass touring, no 6-800mi days for us, we plan for a max of no more than 400mi/day. IMO it's safer, it's more fun, and gives you the opportunity to stop and take in the sites here and there. Even at 400mi/day you still have to average 50mph for 8hrs, which can be tough to do.
We're making and exception for the first day of our trip to SWIII, gonna do about 550mi that day which will make the next 3 days more leisurely.