Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, I plan to add a king tour pack to my 04 RG. I also want rear speakers. My questions is does the 04 RG come stock with the rear speaker wiring pre ran. There is a plug that doesn't go to anything I think on the left side of the seat kinda hidden. Is that it?

·
Registered
2,127 Posts
Harley did sell a Factory Ultra Style rear Speaker Kit (77149-98) for use on FLTR models 1998-2005. But it has been discontinued. You should be able to find a dealer that still has it, if you look around. An old Accessory Catalog states that to use this required separate purchase of an Overlay harness (70160-02) on '02-'05 FLTR Models that were standard on '98-'01. And check eBay for the kit.

Also, you were required to send your radio into the Factory to have the CB and Intercom Upgrade at an additional cost. One thing you also could do is to find an Ultra Radio (76146-04) that already has the rear speaker outputs already installed. This is the CD radio that you have on your year model. If you want to down grade to Cassette, find the 76146-98 Ultra radio.

Or you can go to the aftermarket companies and use their rear speaker amps to add the speakers.

As for the plug, I believe that is the light plug for the Tour Pak, not speakers.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The bike I bought didn't come with a tour pack, but the hardware is there so I am hoping the last guy DID have a tour pack with speakers which would leave me with the harness still in place so I can add my own tour pack with speakers. I'll be doing some research I guess. I know it has the factory radio with the CD player. But are you saying the factory radio was only set up to drive the two fairing mounted speakers? with no "rear" outputs? And if that is the case, can speakers be "piggybacked" off the front speakers wiring as long as they are the same ohm rating, which I think for '04 was 8ohms?

·
Registered
41 Posts