Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
2011 FLTRU, only 250 miles on the bike, I had Bassani Reverse Megaphone slip-on's put on at the dealership with an SE Stage I air cleaner and a "download". I get "pops" when I rev the motor and I've even had a couple of them during normal decelleration. I also noticed tonight after only 250 miles on the bike, the right slip-on is already turning gold where it meets the stock headers.

I'm no mechanic, but I think all this means I'm running way lean ... I'm just wondering what that means long term. Should I inspect the plugs already? Do I spend even more money now on headers, SE SuperTuner and dyno tune? Is there a less expensive way to fix this? And is there a way I can tell if the dealership actually performed the "download"?

·
GONE BUT NOT FORGOTTEN
3,813 Posts
I'm sure you plan on taking it back to the dealer that did the work. You didn't say when it started to pop. You paid good money for the work. They need to make it right. I had BUB 7 & se A/C & remapped on my 07 & never had any of the problems you mentioned. I'm sure someone else will give you some info. Good luck.

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
I'm sure the dealer will give you the usual response 'that's how all Harleys are' so be ready and don't accept it. They do run lean and that is one reason of the popping on decell. Another reason could be air leaks in the exhaust. If you hear popping when you rev it that is my guess. Either a manifold gasket got displaced when the Bassinis were installed or they didn't bother putting new manifold gaskets in thinking they'd get away with it being almost new. (if they had the headers off) There are ways to fix the lean problem but it means spending money. Get after the dealer and see what they can do for you.

·
Registered
33 Posts