Road Glide banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, today I went out to put a hidden antenna in from J and M. The antenna seems to work well, because up to now, the bike had NO antenna.

Getting it off was horrible. I found that there are these two claws on the frame that hook into two slots in the front of the outer faring. These things HAVE to be used. So I FINALLY learn to lift up as I tug (Thank You youtube) and it came off. Getting in on was even worse. I had to go back to Youtube and I also called a friend who is a HD mechanic by trade and education. The matter was made even worse because I have DayMakers and they have a giant heatsink on the back which eats up room in the fairing.

So Here is my step by step to removing the fairing and getting it back on; How I wish I would have done it, and the way I will do it next time if I have to.

Remove the trim ring from in front of the headlights. It is held in by 4 tabs, two on the top, two on the bottom. you have to use something that is thin, yet stron to pry down on the beauty ring and up on the fairing at the same time to unlock the tabs. The ones on the bottom will hinge out after that.

Remove both headlights. If you have Daymakers, there will be a orange-white stripe wire. You will have to cut it.

The headlight support is held in by three green push nuts that sit in the main fairing. reach in and press from side to side to release them. This removes the headlight mounting tabl.

Now you can see the claw things I was talking about.

Remove the windscreen.