Road Glide banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I know HD considers a Stage I to be air cleaner, pipes and tuner. I'm planning to keep my (upcoming) new 2019 SGU under warranty for a few years, so that means using SE/HD upgrades. But how much performance will I actually get paying for Street Cannon slip-ons. Again, to keep the warranty intact, mean keeping the cats too. Is it primarily just a sound improvement, or will I get a some performance? I'm basically wondering if I should save the $500 on the pipe upgrade, for now...

·
Registered
35 Posts
"Prolific" I have been pondering the same question since I purchased my 2017 RGS and I have been thinking of taking the money I would use for the stage 1 upgrade and buy some rear OLIN shocks and make the ride even better. Once the warranty is over then I will buy a complete exhaust and the Tuner of my choice. Anyway that's my thoughts.

·
Registered
85 Posts
If you take it one stage further to Stage II with a Torgue cam, you will feel a significant improvement in power and sound. You get a little bit of the lumpy idle back as well as much improved power trough the normal riding rpm band (2.5-4.5K). Make sure you run at least one smart tune session with your street tuner. The map HD downloaded with my stage II upgrade was crap until I did a smart tune run which made it acceptable. Rode it like that for a while then did a second smart tune and holly crap it's even better now!! Guess I'll try a third run in the near future and see what happens..... I have read on here somewhere that the M8 Cat is way less restrictive than previous years. Mine is still in place so can't speak to what it sound like removed. Over the years I've had straight pipes to stock pipes and everything in between. Personally, I like the sound I have now with Street Cannons but sound is totally subjective to each individual.

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #4