Road Glide banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite BOTM winner for the year of 2021 HERE!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Putting on a Arlen Ness inverted air cleaner on my 13RG. Is a torque wrench mandatory, since I don't have one for this install? I know you need to be carefull not to over tighten breather bolts

·
Registered
538 Posts
Probably not mandatory, until you break off a bolt and wish you had taken the time to get a torque wrench. Many autopart stores loan out those kind of things.

·
Registered
2,001 Posts
If you plan on doing your own mods i would say yes,a ft lbs and an inch pound,you can pick them up at any sears the price is good and good quality for the average wrench,i have one of each and have never had an issue with them.Since i'm not a wrench by trade these work fine.

·
Registered
253 Posts
Personally I recommend the digital style Craftsman Tq wrench. They are very easy to use and theyre fairly cheap, around $100.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Honestly, if you plan on doing any sort of other work on your bike, a good torque wrench is the best investment you can make. Every time you use it you will know what I mean. Why guess? You paid thousands of dollars for your bike. Go buy a decent torque wrench.

Reactions: Oclaf

·
Registered
2011 RGU
2,135 Posts
I agree itis a very good tool to have. Learn from my experience and make sure you triple check whether itis ft lbs or in lbs in the spec. Its too painful a story to tell again......

·
Registered
875 Posts
I agree itis a very good tool to have. Learn from my experience and make sure you triple check whether itis ft lbs or in lbs in the spec. Its too painful a story to tell again......
I think I remember that post (story). :D
Yes buy a torque wrench.

·
Registered
6,206 Posts