Road Glide banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m ready to buy a trailer hitch but would like some feedback. I know I want a hidden vertical hitch so that my local dealer doesn’t flag my bike when it’s sitting in the parking lot. I’ve narrowed it down to 3 choices: HitchDoc because they are made in the US and look solid, but holy crap, they are twice as expensive as my other two choices, the Kuryakyn and the Rivco. I had a Rivco hitch on the Goldwing and really liked it, but I have no experience at all with Kury hitches. One of the considerations is that it needs to be relatively easy to take off if I need to take the bike in for service, but it still needs to be solid. I will be towing a Bunkhouse XL camper trailer. Does anyone have any experience they can share with any of the aforementioned hitches? Thanks!!

·
Administrator
10,483 Posts
Use an mchitch , used to leave it off except for when I actually was towing , and even pulled into dealer once with it on and the never said a word .. I think it depends on the dealer , but they are getting pretty nitpicky now ..

Bunkhouse will be a good pull for the RG , I had a Time Out , was over 400 empty , and pulled pretty easily , still got 35 mpg running 70-80 .. Pretty certain the Bunkhouse is heavier ..

mine is well out of warranty and the esp expired , so no worries anymore here ..

just be sure and get load equalizer wiring harness , powers directly from the battery

·
Registered
108 Posts
I have been running this Kurykan hitch for the past year; https://www.kuryakyn.com/products/5021/receiver-hitch

My trailer is from harbor freight. Went cross country and a few other trips last year with no problems. Easily was at 80 on cruise control with 2 of us on the bike and I didn't even notice the trailer behind me.