Road Glide banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2016 FLTRUSE, (CVO) with "quick disconnect" Tour Pack. The set up includes Saddlebag lights. Recently a riding buddy pointed out that the saddlebag lights work as normal until I use the brakes after signaling to make a turn. The brake lights seem to have priority, rear turn signals no longer indicate the intended route of travel.

I checked the routing and sequence of the tail light connections, the Run/Turn/Brake module seems to have expired. I am wondering if anyone has found an alternative, or re wired around the R/T/B module? Does Custom Dynamics offer an alternative?

If i have to replace the entire kit, I think that I'd replace the lights with Custom Dynamics Sequential Bag Lights. Then I run the chance or opportunity to pull paint off the trailing edge of the saddle bags.

The entire CD set up is $200, H-D lights are $160, the Module is $150...

Thanks In Advance,
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,309 Posts
I have the '15 version of your bike and added the HD ones on it myself. Check the plugs to make sure they're very tight. If so, sounds like it could be the lights themselves. Not sure of any module that's been added. Mine were just plug and play into the regular harness.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Module Photo

I have the '15 version of your bike and added the HD ones on it myself. Check the plugs to make sure they're very tight. If so, sounds like it could be the lights themselves. Not sure of any module that's been added. Mine were just plug and play into the regular harness.
I attached a pic of the parts in the kit. The "Module" mounts on the front of the battery, in a rubber strap.

Your comment causes my thought "Wonder if I wire around it?"
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,309 Posts
I attached a pic of the parts in the kit. The "Module" mounts on the front of the battery, in a rubber strap.



Your comment causes my thought "Wonder if I wire around it?"
I'd have to find the time to pull my seat and Chase the wires to see how mine are plugged in. Been working 6 days a week all damn summer so it may be a while before I can get to it. Sunday at the earliest.

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Update

Checking the circuits with a voltmeter, I found that 12volts is feeding the module, yet only 5 volts is coming out headed to the bag lights.

Maybe I can't or shouldn't wire around it... Best to just buy aftermarket with a reliable warranty...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,531 Posts
Checking the circuits with a voltmeter, I found that 12volts is feeding the module, yet only 5 volts is coming out headed to the bag lights.



Maybe I can't or shouldn't wire around it... Best to just buy aftermarket with a reliable warranty...
5v is very common for LED products. FYI

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,311 Posts
I was having an issue with my HD saddlebag lights, working sometimes, sometimes not. I "thought" I hadn't plugged in the connector tightly when having the bags off. I checked and rechecked and never found an issue...…………...So, while at the dealership (that I quit going to), I asked the service mgr if I could have it checked out and if bad, I would purchase a new one. He goes on a rant about my CD leds causing the issues.
So I go to an online HD dealer and purchase a new set, that's when I find that the module is an upgraded part by the part number. Sure enough, when I just replace the module, everything has been working correctly for the past 2 years.

Hope yours is an easy fix too
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,327 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I think there may be another problem

According to the installation instructions, you can purchase just the module if it is indeed bad.

69200949A is the part number.

This is what eBay sells it for. https://www.ebay.com/itm/Harley-Davidson-Wire-Harness-W-Module-Firmware-69200949A-/183822543073
Thanks, Bought the module you found. Installed it, no change. I think there is an assembly or packaging issue. The bag lights are sold under PN 67800241A, https://www.harley-davidson.com/store/electra-glo-led-saddlebag-run-brake-turn-lamp
which under the Fitment tab shows they are for FLTRU & FLTRUSE. I think the module that should be in the kit is PN 69200779A. Not excited about buying another module or set of lights. I can keep waisting money, trying to fix them, or dig deep and buy some Custom Dynamics.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,327 Posts
Thanks, Bought the module you found. Installed it, no change. I think there is an assembly or packaging issue. The bag lights are sold under PN 67800241A, https://www.harley-davidson.com/store/electra-glo-led-saddlebag-run-brake-turn-lamp
which under the Fitment tab shows they are for FLTRU & FLTRUSE. I think the module that should be in the kit is PN 69200779A. Not excited about buying another module or set of lights. I can keep waisting money, trying to fix them, or dig deep and buy some Custom Dynamics.
PN 69200779A is for the FLTRU.

PN 69200949A is for the FLTRUSE according to the installation manual.

Mmm.

Now I need to go check the operation of mine since I never have anyone riding behind me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I was having an issue with my HD saddlebag lights, working sometimes, sometimes not. I "thought" I hadn't plugged in the connector tightly when having the bags off. I checked and rechecked and never found an issue...…………...So, while at the dealership (that I quit going to), I asked the service mgr if I could have it checked out and if bad, I would purchase a new one. He goes on a rant about my CD leds causing the issues.
So I go to an online HD dealer and purchase a new set, that's when I find that the module is an upgraded part by the part number. Sure enough, when I just replace the module, everything has been working correctly for the past 2 years.

Hope yours is an easy fix too
Bought 2 new modules, (#779A & #949A) and CD standard bag lights. All three worked the same way, brake lights covered over the turn signals. Didn't matter what sequence they were hooked up. So it finally hit me! Reset the can-bus, (turn on the emergency flashers for 3-5 minutes), then turn the bike off. recheck. No change. So is it the ECU, BCU, or wire snaffUU?
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top