Road Glide banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I posted this in another thread but thought I might share here too. I did not want to pay the silly high prices for generic "custom" parts so I decided to make them in my shop. There was more to it than I thought though. I have manufactured guns for many years as well as gun parts. Machining may be the same across the machine world but I have been learning a lot about bike parts as I am not a mechanic.
I have now finished the derby cover, (pic below) I will make another and have it anodized then remachine it.
I have the points cover, floor boards, gas cap cover, and controls drawn already. I learned from this evolution and it will take a bit of time to complete. The nice part is I am excited about every minute in the shop.
The design is a Master EOD badge from the army as I am an EOD tech in the FLARNG. I will post more pics as they come along.

Attachments

·
Registered
692 Posts
Wowsa!!
Freaking awesome!
Nothing like TRUE custom parts!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I definitely wanted to be different. While it may be hard to tell from these pics, the design is basically 3D. I did not want to just flat engrave into a stock part. I will also incorporate the mad bomber design from an organization I belong to. Basically I will make all of the add on parts flat black then start with the performance mods. I have already picked those out but will have to gather a few funds first. the aluminum billet is easy to get but performance mods are much more costly.

·
Registered
493 Posts
Are you going to take on any work? I'd love to get something designed like a tattoo of mine.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
1,546 Posts
Would love to get my club back patchs on a cover if you are taking orders :)

·
Registered
1,422 Posts

·
Registered
7,572 Posts
Very nice craftsmanship!
Let us know if you're going to take custom orders for Forum Members.
Mike U.

·