Road Glide banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I would like to say how thankful i am to have joined the Road Glide community. This is my first H-D and I knew right away this was the model I wanted. I have been riding for over 17 years, but stuck to rockets, and this was the best choice i've ever made.

Now for my issue:
08 Road Glide - 37,000 miles

Today I noticed an issue which all 3 times happened in the same situation. I had come to a stop, began accelerating, then opened it up to feel it out. On all 3 occasions, the bike suddenly stopped wanting to go faster, even with full throttle applied, it was barely revving just enough to barely more. Pulling over, turning off, then restarting solved the problem, but now I want to find the root cause to have it gone. Does this sound familiar to anyone? I could not find anything online because i could not desciribe properly in search haha. Thanks all.

·
Registered
1,877 Posts
So the engine didn't rev, like the clutch was slipping? It doesn't sound like it, just wanting to clarify.

Did you feel any difference in the tension on the throttle?

·
Registered
8,859 Posts
Sounds like your bike was in limp mode. When the bike detects a problem, it can go into limp mode. Check for trouble codes. Turning bike off and back on resets limp mode , but it will come back.

·
Registered
88 Posts
There was a recall/service bulletin issued for 2008 fuel pump/fuel filter housing cracks on touring models. HD fixed the problem on later VIN numbers. They were were replacing the fuel pump housings under the recall. Go to the HD website and plug in your VIN to see if yours is affected.
One test I've heard of : Have the fuel tank 1/8 to 1/4 full....With the ignition off....take off the gas cap....look inside the tank with a flashlight....turn the ignition on and look for fuel spraying in the tank. This could indicate a cracked fuel pump/filter housing.
Just a thought.....PS Don't use a match....LOL

·