Road Glide banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite BOTM winner for the year of 2022 HERE!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
463 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This question is for the helmet wearers out there...

Even though I live in the ultimate no-helmet required state - New Hampshire (state motto "Live Free Or Die" - literally) - I always wear a helmet as I started riding in a state that requires one and now I'm very used it. I hate getting hit in the face with stuff!

The wife and I typically just leave our helmets balanced precariously on our seats but I've always wanted a way to better secure them to the bike. Not because we are afraid of them being stolen (low crime in NH plus our state motto's sub-text is "Leave my stuff alone or I'll kill you") but rather because they can easily fall and get dinged up.

I've looked at the various HD and after-market helmet retention systems but most seem to lack. We don't have an Ultra, so no trunk. The HD and other systems that bolt to the engine guards look okay but not great. I like the Kuryakyn system that locks them to the end of the handle bar but you need to have the ISO grips and I don't have them and don't know if I want them.

That lockable giant HD carabiner looking thing is neat but where do you put it? The other problem is I don't what our helmets making contact with the bikes finish.

So I'm wondering for those of you that wear helmets and lock them to your bike, what systems are you using? Photos would be great. Also, links to systems you use(d) also appreciated.

· Registered
196 Posts
I usually put mine on my seat. If not there mine fits in the saddle bag. The wife usually brings hers with her in it's carrying bag but we have also placed it on the back rest or on one of the mirrors.

· Registered
137 Posts