Road Glide banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hows it going all? I have a 2012 RG Ultra with the chrome 3 piece windshield trim on the stock windshield. I recently bought a 9" HD windsplitter but when I put it on the bike the holes on the chrome trim dont match up anymore. They are about 1/8th of an inch off on the sides. If I take the windshield off the holes match up with it and Im sure the shield is seated correctly on the faring. Not sure whats going on here but its driving me crazy! Any Ideas?

·
Premium Member
3,038 Posts
I'm not an expert but I have had a similar issue when changing windshields. I did a lot of pushing and squeezing and eventually the holes lined up. Not sure if that will work for you. Good luck

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok still going through it and can't for the life of me figure out why this chrome trim is off so much with these lower shields. First I bought a 9" HD Windsplitter and the chrome trim that was on the bike with the stock shield just does not match up when the new shield is on the bike. I even bought a 8" Klock Werks and same issue. If I start on the center screw the last screw is way off. If I match up the 2 side screws the front is way off. I've seen these trim pieces on bikes with smaller screens so what am I doing wrong?

20190223_163547 by Seth Cavins, on Flickr

20190223_163451 by Seth Cavins, on Flickr

·
Registered
4,070 Posts
Ok still going through it and can't for the life of me figure out why this chrome trim is off so much with these lower shields. First I bought a 9" HD Windsplitter and the chrome trim that was on the bike with the stock shield just does not match up when the new shield is on the bike. I even bought a 8" Klock Werks and same issue. If I start on the center screw the last screw is way off. If I match up the 2 side screws the front is way off. I've seen these trim pieces on bikes with smaller screens so what am I doing wrong?